Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Headphone v.s. speakers on DPs #2256172 12/26/10 08:01 PM
Dave Ferris Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
I just started playing the CP5 the other day A/Bing with the new Nord sample on the loaner NP. Before that I hadn't turned it on for a few weeks since most of the gigs have been on Acoustic lately. So my ears were relativley fresh from an electronic keyboard.

I brought the CP5 in the house last night to do the obligatory Christmas carols with the in-laws since I got rid of my Yamaha GT-2 DP and I have to say the CP5 sounds really great in my AKG-240 phones.

Jeez how does one get that sound live ? Maybe it's not possible, I don't know. It's so smooth, musical, hi-fi and airy. It's an overall pleasing sound with no trace of digital harshness or that "honky" character that I get when playing live with speakers. I have a pair of fairly high end speakers here ( RCF TT08As) in addition to some decent studio monitors (Dynaudio BM6As MKII) and the sound plus the overall playing experience is nowhere near the same compared to my $99 set of phones. frown

KC Island
Re: Headphone v.s. speakers on DPs [Re: Dave Ferris] #2256174 12/26/10 08:04 PM
Sven Golly Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Just a thought:

wink

"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: Headphone v.s. speakers on DPs [Re: Sven Golly] #2256175 12/26/10 08:06 PM
Dave Ferris Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
laugh

I'm talking about for me, Al Franken, though. I don't care about them. smile

Re: Headphone v.s. speakers on DPs [Re: Dave Ferris] #2256178 12/26/10 08:28 PM
MonksDream Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
IEM's?

Instrumentation is meaningless - a song either stands on its own merit, or it requires bells and whistles to cover its lack of adequacy, much less quality. - kanker