Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Monitors...again

Ok I have a small project studio(based around a Yamaha AW4416) that I record my band and also some local bands.I have been using the Event 20/20s(passive) for last 2 years.Basically I think they are a decent monitor for the money but seem to have problems( esp.with bass defintion and "forward" mids).I'm ready to take the next step up...budget is $1000-1200.Been looking at the Mackie Hr824s and they seem to fit what I'm looking for...anything else in that price range to consider? I've read mixed reviews on the KRKs and Genelecs,I would love to get the ADAMs(from what I've read) but out of my price range for now. Any thoughts or recommendations appreciated Thanks \Rivers

Smell the Magic

www.Katp.com

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hi, IMHO, you should just save up for them and make due with what you have. Personally, while I find the Mackie's a better monitor than the Events, I find them far from perfect as well. I've been making due for a few years now saving up for a truly great set of monitors (as well as searching). If you get something that is only a step up from what you have today, a year or two from now, you'll be in the same position as you are currently. Maybe at that time you'll only be able to afford another $1,000-1,200 (or maybe $1,500). Of course, this may depend on how long it will take for you to save up to get, say a set of ADAM S2-A's or P-22A's. From my experience, I've spent too much time and money constantly upgrading things in my little studio. I have enough gear that I don't need to go out and buy the latest and greatest all of the time and save up for what I need and buy quality. MHO is that what sounds great today, sounds great tomorrow. HTH and good luck. fv