Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2150164 - 01/04/10 10:47 PM Drum machine, looper for 'live' accompaniment..?
Mi8ty B0osh Offline

Bit of a novice here when it comes to tech equipment..which is why I'm here for a little help smile.
Is there any device..drum machine..looper etc with pre installed bass lines etc, that I can use for very basic live accompaniment. Where you can trigger the bass line to follow your chord changes using a guitar input into the device.
So basically I want the base line to follow my chord progression live..in real time. I know most of these devices have tons of programing capabilities with the option to create from scratch a more complex arrangement...but I would like to know if this simple option is available on any of these devices... thanks for any insight... thu

GP Island
#2150174 - 01/05/10 02:20 AM Re: Drum machine, looper for 'live' accompaniment..? [Re: Mi8ty B0osh]
Crazy Fingers Offline

Loc: New Hampshire, USA
Welcome to the forum Mi8ty! I have a Boss DR-770 that has that feature. It has a few bass sounds in there (upright, slap and rock) and you can program bass lines as well as the drum part.

#2150224 - 01/05/10 07:45 AM Re: Drum machine, looper for 'live' accompaniment..? [Re: Crazy Fingers]
picker Offline
10k Club

Loc: Near 12th Street and Vine...
Zoom makes a drum/bass machine that you can program to do that stuff with. I'm not sure what the learning curve on it is like.

#2150302 - 01/05/10 11:22 AM Re: Drum machine, looper for 'live' accompaniment..? [Re: picker]
Larryz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Hwy 49, California
Welcome aboard BOosh...

#2150320 - 01/05/10 12:10 PM Re: Drum machine, looper for 'live' accompaniment..? [Re: Larryz]
Bill@Welcome Home Studios Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

I'm not aware of any that will follow you, and the lag would probably suck. Bass and drums should set the tempo, not follow it.