Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2118099 - 09/22/09 02:40 PM Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro
smooveface Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/19/01
Posts: 104
Loc: Los Angeles
I just purchased a 2nd hand studiologic SL-990 pro. After powering it up and connecting it to my Motif XS rack, I'm seeing some very strange behavior from the keyboard. it looks like the only sounds I get are from C4 - E7. And even those keys appear to be transposed to a different key. If I play a C4 on the controller, it actually plays a G#3.

To be fair, I don't know a thing about this unit. The manual is all of 1 page. In the manual its says you can change values somehow. The only buttons I see are on top and I see numbers 1-9, but no buttons.

I'm praying all I need to do is just configure this properly and I'll be fine. I hope I just didn't purchase a dud. HELP before I lose my mind:)

Top
KC Island
#2118109 - 09/22/09 03:10 PM Re: Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro [Re: smooveface]
Joe Muscara Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
10k Club

Registered: 02/21/05
Posts: 15741
Loc: Heaven, Hell, or Houston
I wonder if there is a way to reset the board. Sometimes that's the best thing to do when you first get used gear (though sometimes not, sometimes there's a gem in there from the previous owner).

Top
#2118115 - 09/22/09 04:04 PM Re: Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro [Re: Joe Muscara]
e-keys Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/24/06
Posts: 392
smooveface,
could it be some odd setting on the xs rack. Do you have a way to test the keyboard with a different module or with a software synth to see if it is doing the same thing as the xs. If it is, then it is obvious something in the controller. If not, you could reset the xs. I have an sl 990 xp at home and my church has 2. Never had this problem. If all else fails, you could call the tech support at studiologic. I have on ocassion. Hope this helps.

Top
#2118119 - 09/22/09 04:10 PM Re: Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro [Re: e-keys]
e-keys Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/24/06
Posts: 392
one other thing, the numbers 1-9 on the board they you refered to are above certain keys. That is because those particular keys double as buttons. They become functional as buttons once you are in the correct mode. The mode is set by the dedicated buttons on top of the board. They are kind of like data entry buttons at that point, for example, if you want the value 19, you hit c# and a. The manual may help with getting in the right mode

Top
#2118145 - 09/22/09 06:26 PM Re: Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro [Re: e-keys]
smooveface Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/19/01
Posts: 104
Loc: Los Angeles
Thanks e-keys. I'm going to try it with a soft synth to see if the problems shows up there. I have already tried restoring the XS back to factory settings and still have the same issue. Let me see what happens with softsynths.

Thanks for your help.

Top
#2118153 - 09/22/09 06:47 PM Re: Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro [Re: smooveface]
smooveface Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/19/01
Posts: 104
Loc: Los Angeles
Just tried it on one of my softsynths in Cubase and got the same issue. The problem is with the controller. I think I may have gotten a dud. Will call Studiologic tomorrow to see if there's a quick fix for this.

Top
#2118165 - 09/22/09 07:31 PM Re: Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro [Re: smooveface]
e-keys Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/24/06
Posts: 392
Hopefully they can give you a quick reset that is not in the manual. If not a reset issue, you may have a bad main board or contact board. The midi store sells these parts. http://www.midi-store.com/Fatar-keyboard-parts-p-1-c-360.html

Let us know what happens

Top
#2118166 - 09/22/09 07:43 PM Re: Need help with Studiologic SL-990 pro [Re: e-keys]
e-keys Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/24/06
Posts: 392
I did read somewhere where a guy reset an older fatar board by powering down, then back up while holding down certain buttons, up, down, and edit, or something like thatat the same time. Might be worth a try.

Top


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner