Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2072987 - 05/08/09 10:58 PM Renewal Notice
Gadi R Offline
Member

Registered: 09/20/08
Posts: 12
I just got a renewal notice from Keyboard Magazine. THe return address seems correct PO Box 9158 Lowell MA 01853.

At the bottom of the notice it says:

"For faster service, visit us online at http://kb.com/renew

When I went there, it was for a company called Kirshenbaum Bond Partners.

This is the second notice I received from Keyboard magazine. The other one looked more legit.

I think the kb.com address is a fraud.


Just letting you know

Gadi

Top
#2072990 - 05/08/09 11:44 PM Re: Renewal Notice [Re: Gadi R]
Jim Quinn Administrator Offline
Senior Administrator
Gold Member

Registered: 10/01/02
Posts: 896
Loc: Chicago
Gadi,

Thanks for the heads up!
At first glance, it looks to me like a misprint on the renewal notice. The link you posted doesn't resolve to an actual renewal form, so it appears to be a mistake.
The correct address redirect should resolve to: https://www.b2bmediaportal.com/key/keysub.aspx , but I have no idea what they intended.
I'll pass this on to the Music Player people. Thanks again for taking the time to report.

Top
#2073300 - 05/10/09 10:03 AM Re: Renewal Notice [Re: Jim Quinn]
Stephen Fortner Moderator Offline
But who is number 1 ? ...
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/18/01
Posts: 2476
Loc: Bump City, CA, UNITED STATES
Hi Gadi,

If you click on the correct link that Jim provided, you'll go to our genuine online renewal page. I'm guessing there were no fraudulent intentions here, but that someone somewhere had the wrong URL. You did the right thing - when in doubt, ask, as we have found some scam subscription offers thanks to vigilant readers such as yourself. Thanks again,

SF
_________________________
"I'm just a confused musician who got sidetracked into this damned word business..." -Hunter S. Thompson

Stephen Fortner
Executive Editor, Keyboard Magazine
NewBay Media LLC

Top
#2084616 - 06/10/09 08:52 PM Re: Renewal Notice [Re: Stephen Fortner]
Gadi R Offline
Member

Registered: 09/20/08
Posts: 12
Hi Stephen,
I will begin by telling you what a great magazine you have and I enjoy reading it very much.
But once again I received another renewal notice from keyboard magazine. The same mistake is present in this notice. The contact url is kb.com/renew. I guess someone didn't correct the mistake.

The more serious problem I have with this mailing is that it says the following:

Dear Gadi

Your subscription to Keyboard magazine has expired........

It then goes on to explain all of the reasons why I should renew.
The Problem I have is that my subscription will expire in August 2009. The statement made by this notice from Keyboard magazine can only be seen as a lie. This is harsh, but please tell me how I can interpret this differently. I hope Keyboard magazine has not stooped to lying in order to get people to subscribe quicker. This really is a bad business practice. You have a great magazine, and I hope whoever is responsible for this practice will be told to stop.


Thanks

Gadi

Top
#2084983 - 06/11/09 03:58 PM Re: Renewal Notice [Re: Gadi R]
Stephen Fortner Moderator Offline
But who is number 1 ? ...
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/18/01
Posts: 2476
Loc: Bump City, CA, UNITED STATES
Gadi,

I'll forward this on to our publisher and circulation department. Thanks for the heads-up. We certainly don't want anyone to be going to the wrong place to renew their subscription - either because of any possible internal error or because of external scammers.
_________________________
"I'm just a confused musician who got sidetracked into this damned word business..." -Hunter S. Thompson

Stephen Fortner
Executive Editor, Keyboard Magazine
NewBay Media LLC

Top