Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
A MIDI question... #1918070 03/29/08 01:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 986
I
ivorycj Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
I
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 986
So all of a sudden I'm having this weird thing going on in Logic Studio when I boot up Ivory. No matter where my controller is set, it sounds like my Local is on. It's real phase(y) and muddy. I'm only triggering one MIDI channel on the AMT8, blah, blah, blah. My interface is connected to an 01V's monitor section, out to speaker controller. Signal path is clean, all high-end cable. Oh yeah - my headphone feed sounds stellar.

Audio gurus - am I missing something?


ivorycj

Kurzweil Forte
KC Island
Re: A MIDI question... [Re: ivorycj] #1918082 03/29/08 03:04 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,141
burningbusch Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,141
Take a look at Logic Mixer to ensure there's nothing else showing up like an Aux channel that's receiving.

Also, if you're sending to an AUX FX, but have the FX bypassed the signal will pass through.

Double check that you're not somehow receiving duplicate MIDI notes. Record a passage and then examine it in the event list to ensure you're not getting dupes.

Busch.

Re: A MIDI question... [Re: burningbusch] #1918517 03/30/08 01:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 986
I
ivorycj Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
I
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted By: burningbusch
Also, if you're sending to an AUX FX, but have the FX bypassed the signal will pass through.


Excellent idea - I'm at rehearsal all weekend a couple hours north of Denver, but I believe I've seen an AUX hanging out (for no reason, mind you)...I bet that's it!

Thanks - this was killing me!


ivorycj

Kurzweil Forte
Re: A MIDI question... [Re: ivorycj] #1918987 03/30/08 09:25 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,488
mcgoo Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,488
I don't have much of an answer, but I've noticed myself that Ivory does sound phasey in mono. When I use it in recording projects (in stereo) it seems fine, but not so when I use it live (in mono). Playing with the stereo width doesn't seem to help. I'll be interested to see if others have found similar problems or solutions.

regards,

greg


Somehow I manage to con people into paying me to play with toys that make noise.

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3