Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#1895264 - 02/20/08 08:58 PM HELP HELP FOR GOD SAKE HELP
Kit Offline

Ok. I am not a total newbie to recording, mixing and mastering HOWEVER--I am totally lost right now...

I use Acid Pro as my DAW--and try to master everything in WaveLab or Audition (depending on my mood)--however something is happening that I have never seen before.

My mix sounds pretty good (not great) in the headphones, but like HAMMERED MONKEY CRAP on the monitors. I thought maybe it was the monitors or the soundcard, so I burned it to a CD and played it in the car and it sounded TOTALLY different. Not as good as the cans, not as bad as the monitors--

But here's the kicker--the difference is that on the Monitors and in the car, the vocals sound flat--but NOT in the headphones--I have re-cut the vocals three times and while recording, they sound great--but on playback they sound flat, but only in the monitors--

WTF???
Any guesses?

Edited by Kit (02/20/08 08:58 PM)

#1895392 - 02/21/08 05:27 AM Re: HELP HELP FOR GOD SAKE HELP [Re: Kit]
Griffinator Offline
TPS cook & bottle washer
20k Club

Loc: Lynchburg, VA, USA
Dude, your "panic" title isn't going to endear you to anyone.

That said, you're not telling us what your monitoring chain looks like - what kind of cans you're using, what kind of monitors, amplifier on each, DAC, etc.

Even without that info, the stereo spread is always exaggerated in cans, which makes anything panned center seem bigger than it is.

#1895406 - 02/21/08 06:16 AM Re: HELP HELP FOR GOD SAKE HELP [Re: Griffinator]
miroslav Offline
Cosmic Cowboy
10k Club

Loc: NY Hudson Valley, USA
How are you doing your mixes?

Through the cans or the monitors?

"Just because it happened to you, it doesn't mean it's important."

#1895458 - 02/21/08 08:00 AM Re: HELP HELP FOR GOD SAKE HELP [Re: Griffinator]
Kit Offline

Originally Posted By: Griffinator