Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#1766791 - 06/15/07 01:24 AM licsence, copyright, legal legal legal
Brother_Dave Offline

Loc: San Angelo TX`
So I'm kinda starting to entertain a notion to something I think might be more hassle than it's worth. I'm a private music instructor. I teach quite a few instruments, including voice. This means that I get more than a couple of students who do pagents. Some are girls who think they're pretty and need a talent so they turn to singing, and some are girls who love to sing, but have no other avenues to do so in public. Pagents have time limits. Im am often helping a student try and edit her song to get it down to 2 minutes. Lots of times I've taken a song home to my studio to record a more authentic representation of what we have worked in lessons. That way, the tempo is how she likes it, and it's in the absolute best key. This has gotten me thinking. There are surely other girls who need this same service. Custom arrangements of the songs they like to sing. I could actually make a little more money doin' that.

So here's my question. If I intend to make these custom cd's, do I need to obtain a liscence? If so, how do I do that??

Thanks in advance

Dave

#1767452 - 06/16/07 05:20 PM Re: licsence, copyright, legal legal legal [Re: Brother_Dave]
Dave Martin Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Nashville
Brother Dave,

An online forum is really a terrible place to get legal advice, but...

I wouldn't worry about it if I were you (In fact, I've been in your position and I haven't worried about it); licensing has to do with making the song 'available to the general public', and you're not doing that - you're simply performing a service for a client. Things would change if you started selling those songs, however...