Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#1691263 - 08/29/05 12:58 AM All Hail Anthony Jackson
Jonathan Herrera Offline

As a bass player, like all of you, I hear a lot of other bass players. We are cursed with a forever bass-centric ear...music is nearly impossible to listen to with instrumental objectivity.

As a Bass Player editor, I've heard A LOT of bass players. I have a pretty well informed sensibility when it comes to who's out there. I've seen many of the best in person, and have at least really critically listened to all the greats.

Anthony Jackson rules. I mean, seriously. I'm transcribing Chaka Khan's "All Nights All Right" off Naughty this evening, and my god is AJ good. After hearing everybody a million times over, AJ is the one guy (with the possible exception of Steve Swallow) who I can hear just once a be totally reinspired in the most wide-eyed and giddy way. Everything: his approach, his tone, his exceptional creativity, relentless groove...he is the absolute man.

Who is your AJ?

#1691264 - 08/29/05 10:20 AM Re: All Hail Anthony Jackson
Catlin Offline

Loc: Nova Scotia ,Canada
Well, it seems like a given, but my inspiration always comes from Jaco, I just feel what he was doing, and absorb it.
Popping in his debut solo album and hearing the classic Portrait of Tracey just blows me away, its not so much the technical abilities its the feeling and perfect sense of time and how to minipulate rhythm to make the listener slip in to his deep music.

Cool thread,-Catlin

#1691265 - 08/29/05 12:44 PM Re: All Hail Anthony Jackson
Quinn Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Oakland, CA
Hi Jonathan,

I can never pick just one - my tastes are too eclectic and my inspirations change from day to day.

I've been fortunate enough to read about most of my real heroes in Bass Player - that recent article on Willie Weeks is a prime example.