Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
what made you start doing this? #1683346 07/26/05 06:44 AM
J.J. Blair Offline OP
OP Offline
Some of us have such varied experiences about how we wound up doing this. My dad was an audio enthusiast (I have the JBL Olympus speakers that used to be in our living room when I was growing up as my soffit speakers). We always had everything on 1/4" reel to reel, and even as a kid I would experiment with recording and do things like use dynamic mics as speakers and headphones as microphones. I started playing guitar at eleven, and by age 15 or 16, I was using dual tape decks to bounce tracks and record back and forth to record multiple tracks, à la Les Paul, before he had a multitrack. I would make mix tapes and edit the cassette tapes to shorten the pauses, even. When I was 17, I got a Tascam 4 track thingy and eventually graguated to their 8 track 1/4" console, tape machine in one deal. I was just always fascinated with recording and production. Every record I ever owned, I wanted to know how they got a specific sound. I remebember being in 6th grade, a year after Van Halen's Women and Children First came out, going into the audio place next door and always asking how they got that sound on "Cradle Will Rock", and buying gadgets from them to try to achieve that. (Of course the guys at the audio place had no idea.) I always listened to records that way. "How can I make that same sound? Why did that use this instrument there?"