Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#1683265 - 07/23/05 03:21 PM Yamaha 01X
dvenne1 Offline
Member

Registered: 07/23/05
Posts: 3
Can anyone help to figure out why we cannot get this Yamaha 01X installed. We have looked at the troubleshooting part of the manual but nothing seems to fit and just not certain as to why we cannot install. May I please have some feedback and potential answers. Thanks
_________________________
Deborah C. Venne

Top
#1683266 - 07/23/05 05:02 PM Re: Yamaha 01X
Rob Campbell Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/30/03
Posts: 114
Loc: Apple Valley Ca
Hi Deb,

Have a look at 01Xray forums . Those guy's can help you out. Rob
_________________________
My Songs

Top
#1683267 - 07/23/05 07:08 PM Re: Yamaha 01X
dvenne1 Offline
Member

Registered: 07/23/05
Posts: 3
Hello Rob,
Thank you My son and I will look at that. We believe it may be the CD rom, but will definitely check out that site. By the way I looked at your songs and noticed that you like country and write your songs. Please look at the Beartracks band website. My brother and sister also have made some CD. Have a listen and tell me what you think.
Thanks and have a good day
_________________________
Deborah C. Venne

Top
#1683268 - 07/23/05 07:25 PM Re: Yamaha 01X
Philip O'Keefe Offline
10k Club

Registered: 12/17/00
Posts: 17674
Loc: Riverside,CA,UNITED STATES
Hi Deborah, and welcome to the forums!

Sorry to hear you're having problems. Can you tell us a bit more about what sort of computer you're using and what specific problems you're having? That will help us narrow things down a bit and offer you better suggestions. \:\)

I also agree with Rob's suggestion regarding http://www.01Xray.com - that's a good user's resource for the 01X.
_________________________
Phil O'Keefe
Sound Sanctuary Recording
Riverside CA
http://www.ssrstudio.com
http://www.philokeefe.com
pokeefe777@ssrstudio.com
My New Forum on Harmony-Central

Top
#1683269 - 07/23/05 07:54 PM Re: Yamaha 01X
dvenne1 Offline
Member

Registered: 07/23/05
Posts: 3
Hello Phil,
To clarify, the attempted installation system is an Athlon 64 3400+. I'm wondering if this is solely for Intel-based systems? Never had an issue like that before, but there's always a first.
Sometimes the installation will get as far as the actual progress of the mLAN install (post-"preparing installation" dialogue) and then crap out with an error in reading data1.cab or a generic "installation failed" error. I have tried this with the 01X on, off, firewire connected and disconnected, firewire card disabled, everything I can think of. Downloaded the updated mLAN drivers and it did the same thing, so it's not an issue with the CD. The firewire card is a Belkin xx53 (can't remember the exact model, but in a supported cards thread the Belkin xx52 was listed as supported.
Frustration!
Thanks for any and all help/suggestions, because Yamaha sure aren't good for any.
_________________________
Deborah C. Venne

Top
#1683270 - 07/24/05 01:10 PM Re: Yamaha 01X
Philip O'Keefe Offline
10k Club

Registered: 12/17/00
Posts: 17674
Loc: Riverside,CA,UNITED STATES
No, it's not due to your CPU... when I reviewed the 01X for EQ magazine, one of the machines I tested it on was MY Athlon 64 3400, and it worked like a charm for me.

http://www.eqmag.com/story.asp?sectioncode=39&storycode=4652

You don't want the firewire card disabled when you do the installation. Also, have you tried a different firewire card, or installing your firewire card into a different PCI slot on your motherboard? That might help.

It's been a while since I installed everything, so my memory is a bit hazy on the actual details, and I'm in the studio all weekend, so it might be a day or two before I can really check it out... and this version of this forum is going to be archived as of Monday, so I won't be able to respond here... but there will be a "NEW" Project Studio forum over here, and I'll also be moderating a new forum over on http://www.harmony-central.com so feel free to continue the discussions on both of those sites if you would like to.

Also, have you asked for suggestions over on http://www.01Xray.com ?
_________________________
Phil O'Keefe
Sound Sanctuary Recording
Riverside CA
http://www.ssrstudio.com
http://www.philokeefe.com
pokeefe777@ssrstudio.com
My New Forum on Harmony-Central

Top
#1683271 - 07/24/05 03:28 PM Re: Yamaha 01X
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/10/01
Posts: 2992
Loc: Naperville, Ilinois
You should not plug the 01x to the computer until after the initial install and reboot.
_________________________
-Mike Martin
Casio America, Inc.

Casio Music Forums
Privia Pro PX-5S Audio Demos

Top
#1683272 - 07/24/05 03:32 PM Re: Yamaha 01X
Mike Martin Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/10/01
Posts: 2992
Loc: Naperville, Ilinois
Is your Belkin Firewire card a combo USB2/Firewire card? If so, this may be part of the problem.
_________________________
-Mike Martin
Casio America, Inc.

Casio Music Forums
Privia Pro PX-5S Audio Demos

Top
#1683273 - 07/25/05 07:32 AM Re: Yamaha 01X
Philip O'Keefe Offline
10k Club

Registered: 12/17/00
Posts: 17674
Loc: Riverside,CA,UNITED STATES
Deborah, you can take Mike's suggestions as gospel - he works for Yamaha, and he's an expert on the 01X.
_________________________
Phil O'Keefe
Sound Sanctuary Recording
Riverside CA
http://www.ssrstudio.com
http://www.philokeefe.com
pokeefe777@ssrstudio.com
My New Forum on Harmony-Central

Top