Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#1683249 - 07/22/05 12:27 PM Dual PIII servers, any practical use musically?
zeronyne Offline
I still exist
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/16/03
Posts: 6621
Loc: Chicago/NW Indiana
I've just acquired a bunch of Dual PIII servers with Intel L440GX+ motherboards.

Is there any practical musical use for them? Are they even fast enough, assuming they are at least 1gHz, for gigasampler? It would be a shame to gut these if I can use them for another purpose in the studio.
_________________________
"For instance" is not proof.

Top
#1683250 - 07/22/05 12:38 PM Re: Dual PIII servers, any practical use musically?
Bill@Welcome Home Studios Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 08/23/03
Posts: 9613
I have a dual P-III in my office... used to be the studio machine back in 97 or 98. If you are running older software and it is capable of using 2 processors, you'll get some benefit. Most older stuff is useable, so long as we have realistic expectations.

Sorry, I don't know jack about softsynths.

Bill
_________________________
"I believe that entertainment can aspire to be art, and can become art, but if you set out to make art you're an idiot."

Steve Martin

Show business: we're all here because we're not all there.


Top
#1683251 - 07/22/05 12:43 PM Re: Dual PIII servers, any practical use musically?
Philip O'Keefe Offline
10k Club

Registered: 12/17/00
Posts: 17674
Loc: Riverside,CA,UNITED STATES
I run Giga on an old PIII 933 MHz machine. I don't think G3 will run on such an out of date machine, but G2.X does just fine on them. You could probably use them as a CPU booster with something like FXTeleport or VST system Link .
_________________________
Phil O'Keefe
Sound Sanctuary Recording
Riverside CA
http://www.ssrstudio.com
http://www.philokeefe.com
pokeefe777@ssrstudio.com
My New Forum on Harmony-Central

Top
#1683252 - 07/22/05 01:28 PM Re: Dual PIII servers, any practical use musically?
zeronyne Offline
I still exist
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/16/03
Posts: 6621
Loc: Chicago/NW Indiana
Thanks for the info!
_________________________
"For instance" is not proof.

Top
#1683253 - 07/23/05 03:31 AM Re: Dual PIII servers, any practical use musically?
Philip O'Keefe Offline
10k Club

Registered: 12/17/00
Posts: 17674
Loc: Riverside,CA,UNITED STATES
Anytime 0-9... BTW, how many of them did you get?
_________________________
Phil O'Keefe
Sound Sanctuary Recording
Riverside CA
http://www.ssrstudio.com
http://www.philokeefe.com
pokeefe777@ssrstudio.com
My New Forum on Harmony-Central

Top
#1683254 - 07/23/05 11:27 PM Re: Dual PIII servers, any practical use musically?
zeronyne Offline
I still exist
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/16/03
Posts: 6621
Loc: Chicago/NW Indiana
14, with another 160 on the way. The problem is that the RAM will cost more than the servers are worth. But I found a reseller that will take a bunch off of my hands. Then a few for my hosting biz, two for my Battlefield and Unreal Tournament servers, and I should have 4 or 5 for FXTeleport.
_________________________
"For instance" is not proof.

Top
#1683255 - 07/24/05 12:52 PM Re: Dual PIII servers, any practical use musically?
Philip O'Keefe Offline
10k Club

Registered: 12/17/00
Posts: 17674
Loc: Riverside,CA,UNITED STATES
Schweet!
_________________________
Phil O'Keefe
Sound Sanctuary Recording
Riverside CA
http://www.ssrstudio.com
http://www.philokeefe.com
pokeefe777@ssrstudio.com
My New Forum on Harmony-Central

Top