Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#1626445 - 03/15/01 10:40 PM Royalties ratios. Guide me please!
figjam Offline

Loc: Morley 6943,WA,AZERBAIJAN
I'm a composer, arranger, mixer, sound designer and producer for some nice female duo.
I my experience I have found that lyrics will take maybe 10 hours to write for one pop song. I can make a complex composition in max 20 hours solid work. To design sounds, make arrangements, record, create harmonies and finalize the song, that will takes me 350 hours!

My questions are:

What ratio is know as fair in the music industry?
It is really fair?
How about singers who will make it on charts?
Whatís for them?
In what direction we are going?

I have heard about some studios, they are asking for 20% royalties for their production plus costs of recordings. It seems to be to low for me, knowing how much time and how much money studio has to spent on equipment and learning new devices and tools. Lyricist and composer virtually donít have to spent any money. Experience they are getting, of course, but all of it is nothing to compare to studio work.
On top of it, studio CAN make crap song a hit because of groove, unique sounds etc, etc.
IMHO studio can make it and studio is THE PLAYER in that field. Example: Cheiron.
As I said before, Iím a composer and I can compose one song every day. I wish I could record one song every day! ;-P

Any more light on the subject?

Pardon my English! ;-P

TIA

#1626446 - 03/15/01 10:55 PM Re: Royalties ratios. Guide me please!
Doctor Al Offline

Loc: ,,US