Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Question about guitars with wide necks

5 string Mike

Hey guys, I normally hang out at the Lowdown, but I had a couple of questions for you folks at the Guitar forum.

FWIW, I tried the search, wasn't too impressed :facepalm:

Here's the skinny- I've been playing bass for about 10 years or so and I have been thinking real hard about expanding to guitar. The one challenge I face is unusually thick fingers (my wedding ring is a size 15). I have dabbled with guitars years ago, but bass is my first love. I have a Fender classical that I really enjoy playing but it only has like 12 frets.

Long story short, I need to use a wider neck guitar, so I was wondering what you all would recommend for wider necks in the $2-300 range. I was looking at the Agiles, they offer a wide neck model, and from what I understand they are a good starter/intermediate axe.

So what else is out there in the decent budget range that has a wider neck?

Thanks for your help and suggestions :)

"Political language... is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind"- George Orwell

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Around that range I`ve always been happy with Ibanez (I have rather long fingers rather than thick), but if there`s any way you can push the range up a bit it will greatly expand your options.

If you need something that`s wider than off-the-shelf maybe Warmoth would have an offering.

Same old surprises, brand new cliches-

Skipsounds on Soundclick:

www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandid=602491

Honestly, I think that with practice, a Fender Strat or Tele or similarly scaled and string-spaced axe would prove to be playable for you. Besides your large fingers, a guitar's string-spacing probably seems extra crowded after playing and looking down at a bass' strings and their wide-open spaces...