Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I want to buy a Hammond

Synthoid

When I started playing keys in a band back in the 80's, organ sounds weren't on my agenda. I had been "forced" to play the organ when I was growing up and wanted to be as far away from one as possible! All I wanted to play were screamin' leads, string pads and filter sweeps.

Fast forward to 2010: I'm constantly reading various clone wheel "shoot out" threads, listening to 70's tunes, watching Hammond B3 YouTube vids people are occasionally posting, and really wanting a Hammond XK something or other.

You people are a bad influence.

:D

When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply
watching Hammond B3 YouTube vids people are occasionally posting, and really wanting a Hammond XK3c.

There, fixed it for you. ;):thu:

Can't afford it, but thanks Sven.

:(

My church choir sang in a show that had a total of 4 choirs, including one from a Black Missionary Baptist church. They brought a small band, and the choir director played the piano. They proceeded to absolutly rock the house.

They also had a guy that was playing some really tasteful Hammond parts, and it sounded really good.

Imagine my surprise when I noticed the organ was coming from Korg N364, just like the one I still have. I never really liked the organ sounds from it, but this guy had it truly singing.

On a similar note, my first day with my church's band, the songs needed some Hammond, and the board I had to work with was a Roland Fantom X8. Not a good Hammond sound in the thing. Sunday came around, and my Hammond was on the stage.

It's an old XB-2, but it still rocks.

"In the beginning, Adam had the blues, 'cause he was lonesome.

So God helped him and created woman.

Now everybody's got the blues."

Willie Dixon