Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: HP TouchSmart computer

Synthoid

Anyone own or have experience with HP TouchSmart PC's? I've read mixed reviews... but haven't had the chance to actually "test drive" one.

Pros & Cons? Thanks...

When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I hate what happened to that company. When I was an engineer, just about all the test equipment was HP, scopes, meters, etc.

Now they're known for being a crappy PC clone maker that used to make cool calculators. :(

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

I have no experience with the "Touch Smart" PCs, however:

HP makes two different major lines of PCs, one for home users, one for business use. The home series includes many of the Compaq models and all the Pavillion models, including the Touch Screen models. The home series (like Dell and others) is built to an extremely tight price point (read this as lots of price competition, especially on the lower end models - meaning that components are sourced with price as a high weighting factor.)

The HP Business line of PCs is geherally built better, since many businesses get past the "cheapest up front" and move on to the "cheapest in the long run" philosophy. My company owns about 20 computers, all the desktops, workstations, and servers are HP, the notebooks are a mix of Compaq and Lenovo (IBM ThinkPad). I don't sell computers, but earn billable hours helping my clients purchase what will best meet their needs, and I do send a lot of them to www.hp.com for their purchases.