Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Feel free to ask Myles

Originally posted by Slats:

Myles, I'm not sure what you mean by the #4 and the #8. Thanks

Slats,

The #4 and #8 refer to output tube ratings that are used by Groove Tubes. A #8 will distort later and at higher levels than a #4 as an example. When I want a "mid-range" tube that is a great all around tube, I just call my vendors and tell them "send me a tube in the same range as a Groove Tubes #5", as an example.

Regards,

Myles S. Rose

www.guitaramplifierblueprinting.com

www.la-economy.blogspot.com

www.facebook.com/mylesr

www.twitter.com/myles111us

Originally posted by mikey:

Miles,

I guess I am starting to get confused. This is the first tube amp I've had so I'm a novice, soory. In regards to the Fender DeVille - Is the "phase inverter" considered V3? Could you just give me some good ideas about preamp tubes for this amp. I like that vintage Fender tone. I have a 12ax7EH in V1 and some chinese 12ax7 in V2,V3. I am putting Svets 6L6's in the output. Thanka again for all your help.

mikey,

Yes, your phase inverter is V3, and from Fender it is a 12AX7A.

Unless you are having problems, it sounds like you have a pretty nice setup as the Svets are really great in that amp, MUCH nicer (at least to my taste) than the stock 6L6B's or 5881's that are shipped with the amp.

The best things you can do for that amps is:

1. Get a good matched phase inverter in V3. Use a matched 12AT7. These amps like a longer plate 12AX7 in this slot, like a Sovtek 12AX7LP/LPS style tube.

2. Make sure your bias is set to about 55% idle dissapation. If higher, you get more background hiss and noise, and if lower than 50%, you loose some headroom and the amp gets a bit gainy.

3. Maybe try a 7025 in V1 if you want more of the original Fender bright sound as an experiment. You may like it, you may hate it, but at least it will give you "two amps" for a very small investment.

Happy playing,