Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#1280347 - 05/12/06 09:37 AM Roland RD-250s
Keyboard Man 2 Offline

Loc: america
I am a student with limited funds and want to buy a good digital piano. i have come across a Roland RD-250s and it is reasonably priced. Any one have any thoughts on this keyboard?

KC Island
#1280348 - 05/12/06 09:56 AM Re: Roland RD-250s
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Loc: Toronto, ON
Initial thoughts:

• it was made in the late 80's
  • it only has 76 keys, not the full 88
  • it uses Roland's older (but still popular with some folks) SA Synthesis to create the piano tones
  • the action wasn't the best Roland ever produced, but not the worst either
  • it doesn't have built-in speakers, so your options are headphones or some sort of amplification
  • it's a Roland, so it's from a solid manufacturer

You owe it to yourself to do a Google search for Roland RD-250S and read through the Harmony Central user reviews of the 250S, and the Sound On Sound magazine article about SAS.

You should also register at the Roland US website and then download the PDF version of the manual for this piano for free.

Good luck.

#1280349 - 05/12/06 10:57 AM Re: Roland RD-250s
Bill H. Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Columbia River Gorge, US
The rubber dome key contact switches Roland used back then weren't as sturdy as newer ones. Play all notes carefully and make sure there are no false triggers, which are usually very loud notes when you play quiet. Or notes that don't sound at all.

Only 16 notes poly. I think I'd actually steer someone with limited funds towards one of those newer Casios. There are a lot of bargains in used digital pianos today.

#1280350 - 05/12/06 02:50 PM Re: Roland RD-250s
blue and white Offline

Loc: Massachusetts