Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Acoustic bass Qs: An ignoramus needs help!

pbreathing

Hey guys, first post on here - was looking for somewhere to get advice from and a quick scan of the boards suggest you guys seriously know your stuff. :)

The basic scenario - I'm an absolute novice of a bassist and I'm in the market for an acoustic. I can hear the tuts of derision already. :) Basically I'm a drummer that taught myself basic bass and has wound up in an acoustic band.

Obviously cheap is good, but maybe I'd be willing to go to around £500 ($1000) or so. The key issue though - I haven't got a clue what I'm talking about. I know absolutely nothing about anything on the technical side, I can just about master the volume switch.

I'd want something that is loud enough to hear unamplified and doesn't sound like crap when it's amped up. We play darkish, slow music (http://www.myspace.com/tbreathinguk) so something that would help that sound would be good. And, on a personal note, my electric bass is a wood-finish Yamaha (no idea of the model, sorry) and I love it immensely, so if left to my own devices, I'd go back to Yamaha.

What should I look out for, and more importantly, what should I avoid? I've heard some horror stories about acoustic basses and this is a fair amount of money for me, so I want to get something that's worth the cash. I'd be eternally grateful for any sound buying advice.

Thanks guys.

Paul

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Paul,

Welcome to our little Forum. I can't answer your question because I've never tried any of the acoustics but there are many on this Forum that will give you trustworthy advise.

Rocky :wave:

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb, voting on what to eat for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb, contesting the vote."

Benjamin Franklin