Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Can anyone give me some tips...

Candiria

hey im a beginner guitarist and i just need some tips on creating melodies. like when i have a melody in my head or i'll hum a melody i cant convert it on the guitar very well at all. so i was just wondering what techniques do you guys use to do that.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Think of it as tuning the guitar. Either match your voice to a note at a time, or match one note at a time to your voice. Although, for me it is much easier to match my voice with the guitar. Do you know about scales yet? Let us know about your knowledge.

Start matching your voice to eg. the minor pentatonic scale. If you play an A chord, then hum each note of the A minor pentatonic scale. That should help you get the feel of how your voice will sound while playing an A chord. See if you can fit your specific melody to a scale. If you can determine the root, then play that root chord. Start out with a Major chord, then experiment with minor, 7th. etc. The most important thing is to develop your ear. Of course it will help to learn theory. Hope that helps. It's not easy, but it is rewarding.

It always takes a while for anyone to devlop these skills...it can be a long trip.

As already suggested, the best way to start is to go a note at a time...but this can be tedious &, actually, confusing.

After a while you may begin to lose the melody & get lost with everything beginning to sound the same.

I suggest that, using whatever recording device (even a small cassette tape) you have, you record yourself singing the melody & then try to learn it from that.

There are really no tricks or shortcuts, you just have to develop your ear & familiarity with an instrument for finding notes or chords.